Dracula's Child (Paperback)

Dracula's Child By J.S. Barnes Cover Image
$16.99
Email or call for price.

Description


Evil never truly dies...and some legends live forever. The dark heart of Bram Stoker's classic is reborn; capturing the voice, tone, style and characters of the original yet with a modern sensibility this novel is perfect for fans of Dracula and contemporary horror.

"Inventive and spooky" Mark Gatiss, co-creator of the hit BBC series Dracula and Sherlock

It has been some years since Jonathan and Mina Harker survived their ordeal in Transylvania and, vanquishing Count Dracula, returned to England to try and live ordinary lives.

But shadows linger long in this world of blood feud and superstition - and, the older their son Quincey gets, the deeper the shadows that lengthen at the heart of the Harkers' marriage. Jonathan has turned back to drink; Mina finds herself isolated inside the confines of her own family; Quincey himself struggles to live up to a family of such high renown.

And when a gathering of old friends leads to unexpected tragedy, the very particular wounds in the heart of the Harkers' marriage are about to be exposed...

There is darkness both within the marriage and without - for new evil is arising on the Continent. A naturalist is bringing a new species of bat back to London; two English gentlemen, on their separate tours of the Continent, find a strange quixotic love for each other, and stumble into a calamity far worse than either has imagined; and the vestiges of something forgotten long ago is finally beginning to stir...

"This epic tale of madness, temptation, and political scandal set in early-twentieth-century England strikes a resonant chord with today's political climate" Booklist

'A patchwork of dark thrills, woven skilfully from new and familiar voices - Dracula's Child is a macabre delight' Aliya Whiteley, author of The Beauty

About the Author


Jonathan is the author of Dracula's Child and three other critically acclaimed novels: The Somnambulist, The Domino Men and Cannonbridge (“original and monumentally inventive” - Washington Post). He writes regularly for the Times Literary Supplement and the Literary Review and is the author of numerous adaptations of classic Victorian novels, including The Invisible Man (starring John Hurt) and Dracula (starring Mark Gatiss). He is married and lives on the fringes of London. Last year, he made a pilgrimage to Transylvania.

Praise For…


"This adventurous and dread-inducing tale will have readers hooked" - Publishers Weekly

“In style, story content, and characterization, Dracula’s Child is truly the sequel to Bram Stoker’s Dracula, succeeding where other, more famous attempts failed.” - New York Journal of Books

"This novel is nestled perfectly within the popular pantheon of stories that use the frame and style of Stoker’s classic to create original and entertaining stories that add to the lure and enjoyment of the source material. Hand to readers who liked Steven Hopstaken and Melissa Prusi’s Stoker’s Wilde or Lauren ­Owen’s The Quick." - Library Journal 

'Fiendishly plotted and full of sinister invention, Dracula's Child is both a loving homage to Stoker and a thoroughly modern re-imagining of the Count's undying menace' - Richard T Kelly, author of The Knives and The Possessions of Doctor Forest

“A remarkable sequel to Bram Stoker’s classic tale of vampiric horror” - The Frumious Consortium

“What readers loved the most from Stoker’s novel was the eerie atmosphere, the slow building tension, and the horror throughout... Barnes managed to weave in all of these elements and delivered a memorable follow-up to a classic.” - Jessicamap Reviews

 “[A] thorough tribute to Bram Stoker’s original, written in the style of Stoker’s prose and imagining a continuation of the story this is a must-read for Dracula fans” - Den of Geek 

“Mirrors the gothic horror of Bram Stoker. Fans of the classic will love this entry in the mythos” - Girl Who Reads

“A modern masterpiece of Gothic storytelling... The story is so captivating that it could've been written by Stoker himself” - Risingshadow 

“A satisfying story featuring the unsettling vibes and atmosphere that readers seeking a Dracula sequel will crave and expect” - The Bibliosanctum

“The prose and style... immediately took me back twenty-five years to the first time I read Dracula” - Way Too Fantasy 

‘Bram Stoker’s classic continues… It’s just as dark, evocative, sensual, and horrific. A masterpiece.’ - Horror Tree
Product Details
ISBN: 9781789093391
ISBN-10: 1789093392
Publisher: Titan Books
Publication Date: September 22nd, 2020
Pages: 576
Language: English