The Fabulous Furry Freak Brothers: The Idiots Abroad and Other Follies (Freak Brothers Follies) (Hardcover)

The Fabulous Furry Freak Brothers: The Idiots Abroad and Other Follies (Freak Brothers Follies) By Gilbert Shelton, Paul Mavrides Cover Image
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days


With the imminent release of a new animated series, Gilbert Shelton’s legendary underground comix heroes find a new crash pad at Fantagraphics.

The Fabulous Furry Freak Brothers are the most iconic and enduring underground comix characters ever created, having sold over 45 million comics in 16 languages.  Created in 1968 by Gilbert Shelton, widely recognized as one of the funniest cartoonists who ever lived, the Freak Brothers’ rollicking and hilariously self-destructive escapades are comedic masterpieces of farce and satire.

Fantagraphics is proud to announce that it is collecting all their cannabis-fueled adventures in a new series, Freak Brothers Follies.  Each deluxe hardcover will feature a special die-cut cover.  The first volume leads off with “The Idiots Abroad,” a brilliant, novel-length tour de force of slapstick and screwball adventure, showcasing Shelton’s gift for weaving together an intricate plot with droll dialogue and pitch-perfect comedic timing.

Phineas, Freewheelin’ Franklin, and Fat Freddy head out with high hopes for Colombia, but (as always!) their plans go awry in the most hilariously self-destructive way possible. Scattered around the world — to Scotland, Russia, Africa, South America, and the Middle East — they manage to antagonize, offend, and otherwise annoy various groups of nuclear terrorists, human traffickers, pirates, and religious fanatics. Meanwhile, Fat Freddy’s Cat, abandoned at home, not only has his own fur-raising adventure, he even sells the story to Hollywood!

The Freak Brothers, an animated series, set in modern-day San Francisco, is scheduled for release in 2021. The show stars the voices of Woody Harrelson, Pete Davidson, John Goodman, and Tiffany Haddish.

About the Author

Gilbert Shelton (b. 1940, Houston, Texas), a founding father of the underground comix movement, is the creator of the iconic comix characters The Fabulous Furry Freak Brothers, Fat Freddy’s Cat, and Wonder Wart-Hog. He was inducted into the Will Eisner Award Hall of Fame in 2012. He has been known to sing and play piano for the Blum Brothers, a Paris-based rhythm and blues group. He lives in Paris, France, with his wife and an ever-changing number of cats.

Paul Mavrides (b. 1952), an enigmatic cartoonist, painter, and graphic artist, began collaborating with Gilbert Shelton on The Freak Brothers in 1978. He is a founding member of the Church of the SubGenius. In 1997, after a six-year legal battle, he won a landmark decision for artists’ rights in California that established a legal equivalency between written-word authors and cartoonists.
Product Details
ISBN: 9781683965107
ISBN-10: 1683965108
Publisher: Fantagraphics
Publication Date: April 19th, 2022
Pages: 146
Language: English
Series: Freak Brothers Follies