Unsettled (Compact Disc)

Unsettled Cover Image
$19.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

May/June 2021 Kids Indie Next List


“A 2021 must-read. Immediately captivating Nurah is an inspiring and courageous protagonist. I only wish I could have read a book like this when I growing up. All at once an enlightening and relatable read with a message that cannot be ignored.”
— Stephanie Skees, The Novel Neighbor, Webster Groves, MO

Description


For fans of Other Words for Home and Front Desk, this powerful, charming own voices immigration story follows a girl who moves from Karachi, Pakistan, to Peachtree City, Georgia, and must find her footing in a new world. Reem Faruqi is the ALA Notable author of award-winning Lailah's Lunchbox.

A lyrical coming of age story exploring family, immigration, and most of all belonging. Nurah is a compelling main character who I was rooting for all the way through. --Aisha Saeed, New York Times bestselling author of Amal Unbound

"This empowering story will resonate with people who have struggled to both fit in and stay true to themselves." --Veera Hiranandani, Newbery Honor author of The Night Diary

"A gorgeously written story, filled with warmth and depth. --Hena Khan, author of Amina's Voice

When her family moves from Pakistan to Peachtree City, all Nurah wants is to blend in, yet she stands out for all the wrong reasons. Nurah's accent, floral-print kurtas, and tea-colored skin make her feel excluded, until she meets Stahr at swimming tryouts. And in the water Nurah doesn't want to blend in. She wants to win medals like her star athlete brother, Owais--who is going through struggles of his own in the U.S. Yet when sibling rivalry gets in the way, she makes a split-second decision of betrayal that changes their fates.

Ultimately Nurah slowly gains confidence in the form of strong swimming arms, and also gains the courage to stand up to bullies, fight for what she believes in, and find her place.

Supplemental enhancement PDF accompanies the audiobook.

Product Details
ISBN: 9781665077606
ISBN-10: 1665077603
Publisher: HarperCollins
Publication Date: May 11th, 2021
Language: English