Squished: A Graphic Novel (Paperback)

Squished: A Graphic Novel By Megan Wagner Lloyd, Michelle Mee Nutter (Illustrator) Cover Image
$12.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Description


From the Eisner-nominated duo behind the instant bestseller Allergic comes a fun new graphic novel about finding your own space… especially when you're in a family of nine!

Eleven-year-old Avery Lee loves living in Hickory Valley, Maryland. She loves her neighborhood, school, and the end-of-summer fair she always goes to with her two best friends. But she's tired of feeling squished by her six siblings! They're noisy and chaotic and the younger kids love her a little too much. All Avery wants is her own room -- her own space to be alone and make art. So she's furious when Theo, her grumpy older brother, gets his own room instead, and her wild baby brother, Max, moves into the room she already shares with her clinging sister Pearl! Avery hatches a plan to finally get her own room, all while trying to get Max to sleep at night, navigating changes in her friendships, and working on an art entry for the fair. And when Avery finds out that her family might move across the country, things get even more complicated.

Megan Wagner Lloyd and Michelle Mee Nutter have once again teamed up to tell a funny, heartfelt, and charming story of family, friendship, and growing up.

About the Author


MICHELLE MEE NUTTER is the co-creator, with Megan Wagner Lloyd, of Allergic, an instant bestseller. Michelle graduated with a degree in illustration from the Massachusetts College of Art and Design. Her work has been recognized by the Society of Illustrators, 3x3 Illustration, Creative Quarterly, and more. Michelle lives in Boston.
MEGAN WAGNER LLOYD is the co-creator, with Michelle Mee Nutter, of Allergic, an instant bestseller. Megan is also the author of several picture books, including Paper Mice, Building Books, Finding Wild, and Fort-Building Time, and of Haven, a novel. She lives in the Washington, DC area.

Praise For…


Praise for Squished:

Instant National Indie Bestseller

Barnes & Noble Most Anticipated Kids' Book

Good Housekeeping Kids' Book Award Winner

American Library Association Best Graphic Novel for Children

★ "A charming and achingly relatable snapshot of life in a big family." -- Kirkus Reviews, starred review

"Nutter's warm and appealing artwork comically captures the crowded chaos of the Lee household and the matter-of-fact diversity of the town, and the sun-dappled visuals will appeal to anyone who loves the work of Raina Telgemeier or Shannon Hale... This stirring and dynamic graphic novel is sure to win a lot of hearts." -- Booklist, starred review

"Avery’s plights are amusing and approachable, with art from Nutter that is gentle and light-filled. This engaging graphic novel tackles very real feelings and will keep readers invested in Avery’s life. Highly recommended." -- School Library Journal, starred review

"Brightly colored landscapes and keen dialogue artfully depict common eldest daughter woes." -- Publishers Weekly

"A warm, heartfelt, relatable comic that shines a light on a "squished" sibling as Avery tries to become more independent and weather life’s changes while still finding her own place at home." -- The Horn Book

"There is so much to love about this title... The storytelling is fast-paced and has many humorous moments... The artwork is busy and offers the frenetic feel of the hustle and bustle of a large family. The colorization looks vivid and warm, which wraps up the warm tingly feelings all readers will be left with. Another great addition to the middle-grade comics collection." -- School Library Journal's Good Comics for Kids Blog

"This delightful graphic novel about growing up and carving out your own space is perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier." -- Barnes & Noble

"An exciting graphic novel by Megan Wagner Lloyd and Michelle Mee Nutter. Most kids will relate to Avery and enjoy this heartwarming story.” -- Kellen Bhatt, kid reporter for TIME for Kids

"This graphic novels underscores that seemingly opposite things can both be true: You can adore a large family's sense of belonging but still crave some alone time (and your own room). Fans of Sisters will gobble up this book." -- Good Housekeeping

Praise for Allergic:

Instant National Indie Bestseller

School Library Journal Best Graphic Novel of the Year

American Library Association Best Graphic Novel for Children

New York Public Library Best Book for Kids

"There's a lot packed into this graphic novel beyond the allergy story line: how family dynamics change with a new baby's arrival, how kids struggle to fit in and find friends. But while it addresses serious issues and emotions, Allergic, unlike hives and sneezing, is mostly madcap fun." -- The New York Times

"Allergic is the sweetest story you'll read all year. A touching chronicle of a young girl's severe allergies woven into a meaningful journey of friendship, family, and self-discovery." -- Terri Libenson, New York Times bestselling author of Invisible Emmie

★ "A heartachingly enjoyable tale of resilience." -- Kirkus Reviews, starred review

"Readers will root for this realistic and relatable fifth grader, who's capable of kindness as well as envy and self-doubt... readers will easily identify with her trials and accomplishments." -- School Library Journal

"Vibrant... easy to recommend." -- Booklist

"Warm and well-paced... an encouraging tale for young readers engaging with the world of pets, family, and friendships." -- Publishers Weekly

Praise for the Allergic Audiobook:

★ "A first-rate full-cast audio treatment… Thanks to expertly mixed recording effects and a bouncy music score, the production sounds like a radio drama: overlapping voices, yipping dogs, and multitude of noises." -- Booklist, starred review

Product Details
ISBN: 9781338568936
ISBN-10: 1338568930
Publisher: Graphix
Publication Date: March 7th, 2023
Pages: 256
Language: English