The Hunting Party: A Novel (Mass Market)

The Hunting Party: A Novel Cover Image
$9.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

March 2019 Indie Next List


“Lucy Foley’s The Hunting Party is a slick, streamlined murder mystery set on a remote Scottish luxury estate. A group of old friends get together for their yearly New Year’s trip, but after over a decade of closeness, some of them may be near the breaking point. Foley uses the multiple-narrator approach to distort the reader’s perspective and challenge their assumptions, but it doesn’t feel excessive. With multiple puzzles that come together to create the bigger picture and a short timeline that adds to the claustrophobic urgency, this novel is a devilishly thrilling winter read.”
— Annie Metcalf, Magers & Quinn Booksellers, Minneapolis, MN

Description


THE NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

“My favorite kind of whodunit, kept me guessing all the way through, and reminiscent of Agatha Christie at her best -- with an extra dose of acid.” -- Alex Michaelides, author of the #1 New York Times bestseller The Silent Patient

From the author of the Reese Witherspoon book club pick The Guest List

Everyone's invited...everyone's a suspect...

During the languid days of the Christmas break, a group of thirtysomething friends from Oxford meet to welcome in the New Year together, a tradition they began as students ten years ago. For this vacation, they’ve chosen an idyllic and isolated estate in the Scottish Highlands—the perfect place to get away and unwind by themselves.

The trip begins innocently enough: admiring the stunning if foreboding scenery, champagne in front of a crackling fire, and reminiscences about the past. But after a decade, the weight of secret resentments has grown too heavy for the group’s tenuous nostalgia to bear. Amid the boisterous revelry of New Year’s Eve, the cord holding them together snaps, just as a historic blizzard seals the lodge off from the outside world.

Two days later, on New Year’s Day, one of them is dead. . . and another of them did it.

Keep your friends close, the old adage says. But how close is too close?

DON'T BE LEFT OUT. JOIN THE PARTY NOW.

About the Author


Lucy Foley studied English liter­ature at Durham University and University College London and worked for several years as a fiction edi­tor in the publishing industry. She is the author of five novels including The Guest List and The Hunt­ing Party. She lives in London.

Praise For…


“A tense, perfectly paced murder mystery.”
People

“Lucy Foley proves that the traditional country-house murder formula…can still work brilliantly.… Superb."
The Times (London)

“My favorite kind of whodunit, kept me guessing all the way through, and reminiscent of Agatha Christie at her best -- with an extra dose of acid.”
— Alex Michaelides, author of the #1 New York Times bestseller The Silent Patient

“A ripping, riveting murder mystery—wily as Agatha Christie, charged with real menace, real depth. Perfect for fans of Ruth Ware.”
— A.J. Finn, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Woman in the Window

“Fans of Ruth Ware will likely rip through The Hunting Party at warp speed.”
Popsugar

“Like a deliciously drawn out game of Clue, this novel brings together a group of Oxford friends at a remote Scottish highlands estate for the Christmas holidays....Foley paints such a vivid hunting-lodge-and-lochs setting that you’ll immediately be booking your own highland fling, clandestine killers or no.”
National Geographic

“Everyone is a suspect in Lucy Foley’s clever murder mystery that harkens back to Agatha Christie and the Orient Express. Friends, lovers, strangers and murder at a secluded hunting lodge make for an absolutely delicious read!”
— Wendy Walker, author of the national bestseller All Is Not Forgotten

“An addictive murder mystery full of suspense, secrets and surprises. I loved it!”
— Alice Feeney, New York Times bestselling author of Sometimes I Lie

“Psychological suspense that rivets. Imaginatively conceived and deftly executed.”
— Fredericksburg Free Lance-Star

“An auspicious thriller debut...a cracklingly suspenseful story for a long winter’s night.” 
Publishers Weekly
Product Details
ISBN: 9780063063587
ISBN-10: 0063063581
Publisher: William Morrow
Publication Date: February 23rd, 2021
Pages: 400
Language: English